AAB Sponsors the first National Traffic Safety Award

The “National Traffic Safety Award for the State of Qatar” was launched by Qatar University and the National Traffic Safety Committee (NTSC) with Abdullah Abdulghani & Bros. Co. W.L.L. (AAB), the exclusive distributor of Lexus and Toyota in Qatar, as Sponsor. 

The official launch ceremony was attended by Dr. Hassan bin Rashid Al Derham, President Qatar University (QU); Brigadier Mohammed Abdullah Al Shahwani, Director General of the General Directorate of Traffic; Brigadier Mohammed Abdullah Al Malki, NTSC Secretary , Dr. Mohammed Yousef Al Qaradawi, Director of Qatar Transport and Traffic Safety Center (QTTSC) and  Dr. Nasser Al Abdulghani, Chairman of AAB.

During the launch, Dr. Al Derham stated that the Awards was to value the efforts involved in the success of traffic safety initiatives and to continue to meet the objectives of the National Traffic Safety Strategy 2018-2022. Traffic safety has been built on National Vision 2030 and is one of the priorities that Qatar seeks to develop. In recent years, Qatar has been able to improve and work to reduce traffic accidents to the point of competition from developed countries through the efforts of all stakeholders.   All relevant structures have worked together while organizing awareness activities in order to highlight the seriousness of the lack of compliance with road safety and security procedures.

Dr. Nasser expressed that launching the first National Traffic Safety Award is an important event as it will promote best practices to protect road users and build a good framework that will provide safety for everyone. He also highlighted that  road safety is the responsibility of every person, which makes the award vital as it contributes to build a culture of safe driving in the country. 

The award has three categories: Individual, Public & Private Institutions and Educational Institutions.  The Individual Category will be presented to an individual who has developed an initiative concerned with traffic safety and has actively contributed to improving traffic safety in Qatar.  For prominent organisations that have undertaken initiatives to reduce traffic accidents and have contributed to raising the level of traffic safety in Qatar, they will be awarded in the Public and Private Institutions Category.  Meanwhile, Educational Institutions Category includes kindergartens, schools, institutes, colleges and universities which engaged in projects, initiatives, research and scientific, intellectual and technical innovations in traffic safety.

To complement the launch of the award, and in cooperation with the National Traffic Safety Committee, Dr. Muhammad Yusuf Al-Qaradawi also announced the launch of the Qatar Traffic Safety website www.roadsafety.qa , which aims to collect and publish research studies and initiatives in the country as a national and global reference. The website contains academic publications, reports, events and training workshops, in addition to traffic safety news. It is also the platform to receive all nominations for the Traffic Safety Award for all categories. Traffic safety has always been a priority to AAB.  This is reflected in the activities and programs it has developed with the Traffic Department for the Traffic Safety Week over the past years.  


About Author



Related Post